Facebook has been part of our daily lives for more than 17 years, and it has almost three billion active users. You can now hide other peoples’ comments on your own Timeline.
Facebook is one of the best social media websites for catching up with friends and family.
It’s helped people to connect during the coronavirus lockdown, as well as reconnect with long-lost friends.
But, unfortunately, some people may be using Facebook for spreading hate or personal attacks.
As a result, Facebook has now given its users the chance to hide other peoples’ comments.
READ MORE: Messenger is down across the UK – Facebook chat app suffers outage
What happens when you hide a comment on Facebook?
The comment will develop a grey overtone, which means that it’s currently hidden to the rest of the world.
The only people that will be able to see the comment are you, the person that posted the comment, and their friends.
The author and their friends can continue to add further comments on the thread, but nobody else will be able to see it.
You’ll also stop receiving notifications about the thread, meaning that, for all intents and purposes, it no longer exists.
Rest assured, however, that the comment’s author will have no idea that you’ve chosen to hide their contribution.
Therefore you won’t be inundated with further annoying comments that you’ll want to hide.
If you choose to return the comment to its place on your post, or if you accidentally hid it, there’s a simple antidote.
Click on the three dots once again, and scroll down to ‘Unhide comment’. Easy.
But, just as you can remove other peoples’ comments without them knowing, it could also happen to you.
If you comment on someone else’s post, and they don’t like what they’re reading, they could also choose to hide your comment.
You’ll never know that it’s been hidden, because it will still appear on your phone or computer.
Could a similar ‘hide comment’ button appear on other social media websites over the coming years?