Home Tv & Show How many series of The Bay are there?

How many series of The Bay are there?


ITV series The Bay debuted in 2019 and proved to be a huge hit with the broadcaster recommissioning the series quickly. Season two was dropped on the ITV Hub in one go for fans to binge as well as airing on a linear weekly basis. With season two’s broadcast now wrapped up, viewers are keen to find out how much more there will be.

How many series of The Bay are there?

There have been two series of The Bay already made and a third has now been announced by ITV.

ITV confirmed actress Morven Christie would be departing after two seasons with actress Marsha Thomason replacing her.

The channel’s head of drama Polly Hill said: “We are delighted with the audiences’ response to The Bay and look forward to them meeting DS Jenn Townsend played by the fantastic Marsha Thomason, who joins the team in series three.”

An average of 7.5 million people have been watching season two since it was released earlier this year.

READ MORE: The Bay season 3 release date, cast, trailer, plot

Executive producer Catherine Oldfield said of the recommission: “[Writer] Daragh [Carville] and I couldn’t be more delighted by the audience response to The Bay.

“That ITV have recommissioned the show is fantastic and to get a talent as bright and brilliant as Marsha to lead the new series is beyond exciting.

“We can’t wait to get back to Morecambe to start filming again in that beautiful part of the world.”

From the looks of the viewing figures, the future is bright for The Bay with season three in the pipeline.

Work has already commenced on the scripts for season three and depending on the reaction to the new story and the lead, The Bay could be returning for more.

For now, there will be three seasons in total with the third instalment expected to be hitting screens in 2022 at the earliest.

Season one of The Bay was popular with viewers lapping up the show, which also became an international hit.

With 7million tuning in to watch each episode of the first series across the six episodes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here